Watch My Garden Growing

My gardening attempts in a new environment.

Went shopping today

on April 13, 2013
Pepsico, Quaker Oats & GMO: You're On Your Own...

Pepsico, Quaker Oats & GMO: You’re On Your Own (g1a2d0054c1) (Photo credit: watchingfrogsboil)

 

The Future of Food

The Future of Food (Photo credit: elycefeliz)

So, I headed over to Lowe’s this morning and bought the soils I need for my raised bed garden. I will be layering the garden, wheat straw on the bottom (on top of the contractor’s fabric), manure-compost blend, peat, and top soil. I also purchased a few plants as I will be growing a lot from heirloom, un-Monsanto GMO seed. I wanted my tomatoes and peppers to have a head start and provide some shade for my more tender crops.
Tomorrow we will build the box, mix the soils, and plant. Hubby will pick up the stakes to build the fence (deer netting and chicken wire) to keep out the critters. I do use Miracle-Gro so don’t trash me as I mention it in my posts!! I will also use a small portion of my garden area to compost, I save my eggshells to put around the lettuce, cabbage,, etc to discourage the slugs. I will be making my beer bait and insect trap to be hung from a tree on the opposite side of my yard. Primarily, it is used to trap mosquitoes! My beer bait for slugs will be outside of the garden as well.

 
I am really excited to see what we can grow here!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

